Peak Antifreeze & Motor Oil Indy 300

Ummm, can we get a different name for this race, please?

This weekly picks update is cuttin’ it a little close to race time, but I’ve been so busy doing my thank-God-we’re-finally-back-to-ovals happy dance that I almost forgot to post. Three more races to go – all on ovals – excitement meter is on max. Downforce adjustments and overtake assistance are in full force. Should be one hell of a race at the Chicagoland Speedway.

This won’t come as a shock to anyone, but I like Ed Carpenter as my first pick. I’d like to see the #20 car qualify P1 with Briscoe at P2 so we can continue where we left off at Kentucky. I should be so lucky.

Second, I’ll take Dan Wheldon. Of all the cars on the grid, Wheldon has lead the most laps at this track, and one would hope he’s still out to prove that ’09 won’t be a total bust. I heard a rumor this week that he’s headed to F1 for next year. Say it ain’t so, Dan. I don’t care if you stay at Panther or head to AGR. Hey, even if you make Sarah Fisher a two-car squad, just don’t forsake us.

Finally, I’m going with a dark horse pick of Tomas Scheckter. He’s been training like a maniac and he’s back in the series for the last three races on the schedule. The 2009 season hasn’t been spectacular for T-Scheck but I’d love to see him leave it all on the track in Joliet… and Tokyo… and Miami.

History shows that Chicagoland has been home to some barn-burners. And with this week’s as-vague-as-possible confirmation about the replacement of The Mile, the Chicagoland Speedway will have to be my new “home track.” Feel free to send sympathy cards. I’m coping. Don’t let me down, Chi-town.

Leave a Reply

