Firestone Indy 300 (Homestead)

Pack your suntan lotion, race fans, and put an umbrella in your fruity drink. We’re headed to sun-drenched Miami this weekend for the final race of the 2009 IRL season. I’ve been putting off this week’s picks too long, mostly because it pains me to see it come to an end. Maybe it’s the thought of 2010 without the Milwaukee Mile. Maybe it’s the inability to fathom a six-month eternity before the next flag drops. Or maybe it’s just severe denial that Milka hasn’t been banned from the league yet. Whatever it is, raise your hand if you’ll join the race gIRL on the verge of an open-wheel-induced depression.

It doesn’t matter whether you think BFD stands for Briscoe, Franchiti, Dixon or Big F-ing Deal, it’s hard to deny that this has been one hell of a season. From Helio’s tax evasion scandal to Vitor Meira’s season-ending wall drive at Indy. From TK’s flaming cockpit escape to Carpenter’s stunning head-to-head battle with Briscoe at Kentucky. From the new overtake assistance and downforce options to Danica’s will-she-or-won’t-she Nascar tease. I’d like to say we’ve seen it all this season, but here’s to 2010 being even more exciting. Book your tickets now, my friends, because at the rate we’re going, the only network willing to air the races might be Lifetime. But hey, maybe your wife would watch it with you, right?

I digress. Where’s my Mai Tai? On to the final picks of the season…

I’m going with Briscoe. He doesn’t have a strong history at Miami, but his eyes told it all in Japan. As he sat in the pits waiting for his crew to fix the car following the cone-toting wall debacle, you know how bad he wants it.

My second pick is Castroneves. Since 2002, he’s been in top five every year except 2007.  Since he’s not a contender, this could be his way of going out with a bang following his Indy three-peat.

My final pick is Scheckter. He was the pole-sitter in 2005, he’s got a decent record at Miami, he knows the track. And after some disappointing mechanical issues at Kentucky and Japan, I feel like this might be his chance to prove that he deserves a full-time ride in 2010.

At this point, I find it impossible to care about anything beyond this Saturday evening. Words can’t express how excited I am to be in the pits at Homestead. Possibly even more thrilling is the thought of meeting a bunch of my fellow race fans at the Tweetup… or the bars… whatever. The point is it’s a gathering of the masses to celebrate the excitement that is Indy. I’m thankful for everyone I’ve met this season who shares my passion and I look forward to many more years of screaming “Did you see that?!” with all of you.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a plane to catch. You might see me on the beach this weekend, or in the pits, or desperately chasing down the league’s finest in my quest to show them why they should hire me. Wherever I am, you can be sure of one thing: I’m in Miami, bitch. And this weekend, there’s nowhere else I’d rather be.

6 responses to “Firestone Indy 300 (Homestead)

  • Bob

    Hilarious comment about Lifetime! Have fun at the race. Go Scheckter!

  • My Name Is IRL

    Just wanted to let you know I’m dropping a great big “Thank You” on you for IndyCar Blog Comment Day. Not only are you skilled enough to come up with “BFD” (how did I miss this?), but you’re obviously much better looking that the rest of us bloggers. I’m obviously sucking up so that you show mercy on me once you rule the IndyCar world.

    Keep up the great work!

  • Frank Scurley

    I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  • Savannah

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  • Tony d

    I enjoy reading this. I do a similar preview every week at 16thandgeorgetown.com I altho.. had a little better with the picks.. i of course took dario.. and Tomas is my darkhorse every week because he is a definate fav of mine, i use to run his website… keep up the great work!!! and check out my site!! we can add a link on our site .. straight to your blog if ud like!

  • Sheridan Brinkman

    Fantastic posting, thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

