The road to friendship is best traveled at 230mph

They say the three biggest stress-causing events in life are moving, starting a new job and planning a Winter Indy Tweetup. Check, check and… CHECK. If you haven’t heard, the race gIRL is officially a resident in the Racing Capital of the World. Alleluia! I can’t wait ‘til May when I can open my windows and smell the Ethenol.

I started this blog mid-way through the 2009 season, when my feet were firmly planted in the great state of Wisconsin. At the time, I had no idea that the next six months would be flat-out, balls-to-the-wall mania. If you’ve read my blog, you know that the race gIRL specializes in sarcasm, not sappiness, but there are a few times when you have to give credit where credit is due. Grab a tissue and let me have my moment.

The offseason is the perfect time to celebrate the behind-the-scenes goodies that aren’t seen because our eyes are on the track, or that aren’t heard over the roar of the engines. During race season we’re all so caught up in the lap times, the fuel strategies or the Milka debacles that we don’t stop to appreciate the greatest spectacle off the track… the IndyCar Nation.

It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that I didn’t know any of my IndyCar friends a year ago. So a special (and weird) shout-out to Twitter for bringing us all together. And also for helping me add new words to my vocabulary, such as tweeps, twackin’ and twiracle. I feel smarter already.

First, I gotta give mad props to my fellow IndyCar bloggers. If there’s anyone reading this who hasn’t checked out The Silent Pagoda, My Name is IRL, PressDog, PlanetIRL, Indy Racing Revolution, Is It May Yet, The Inside Line, The Other Side IRL, etc., consider yourself uninformed in the IndyCar world and just plain uncool. These guys are awesome at what they do.

Secondly, I’m extremely thankful for my new job here in Indy. So I have to send a great big thank you to my boss, David, who just happened to find me through my blog. At least I know one person is reading it. The fact that he has one of my autographed headshots hanging in his office makes him the coolest boss I’ve ever had.

A big, huge, GINORMOUS twug (that’s twitter hug – are ya catchin’ on?) to all my tweeps. I wish I could tell every one of you how much I appreciate your friendship. I’ve really enjoyed watching the races with you and laughing hysterically at your tweets. Special hugs to IndyRacingNut and Donny2001 for being among the first people to follow me. You guys rock! Let’s not forget the Cheesecake Debaclers (Fieldof33, GoDanica7, Indy44, BrianJee, vc46880) and my IRL homegirls (99forever, lmkenny, FionaHewitson, SpeedFreakBash, AKWaxy).

I certainly can’t leave out my tweeps GaryTrib, MikeNele and MitchDoner. You know our story… enough said. I have to include a thank you to Curt Cavin and Kevin Lee for helping us promote the Tweetup. Finally, to every single one of the Winter Indy Tweetup attendees… you guys made that event awesome and I will never forget the feeling in my heart as I watched your excitement.

Let’s see, I think that’s everyone… oh wait, I think there’s one more person I might be forgetting… or intentionally saving for last. HappyFish, I HEART YOU. If you don’t know, HF and I met through twitter a month or so before the Miami race. She is my race-watching, event-planning, sarcastic-commenting, monstrosity-lugging, radio-interviewing, sushi-eating, pajama-shopping partner-in-crime and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Keep us on your radar. And if you see us walking around talking about how we are so fierce and sexy, don’t question. Embrace it.

Oh, and one more thing. Thank you to all of you who have asked my opinion on Schumacher making his F1 return. While I humbly appreciate your interest in my opinion, the IRL in my name stands for IRL… and I’m a die hard, baby. Otherwise my name would be the race gF1. Which doesn’t make any sense. Or the race gNASCAR, which actually sounds like a disease that one might contract at a NASCAR race. No sir, I don’t like it. I’m stickin’ to what I know. And I know that IndyCar = awesome.

Aaaaaaand cut. We now return you to your regularly scheduled race blogging. Thanks for coming out.  Thanks for being you. Be sure to tip your waitress.

11 responses to “The road to friendship is best traveled at 230mph

  • akwaxy

    WOOT! Twugs right back at ya! Can’t wait to hear more about what you and Elizabeth are cooking up for MIT!!!

  • Elizabeth (HappyFish)

    Don’t forget to add Conveyor-Belt-of-Love-watching and hottie-whistle-wearing to our list of activities!

    You know I love you. It’s so epic what’s happened to us since we met for the first time in person at Scotty’s on Labor Day weekend and hoped it wouldn’t be awkward. And this is just the fierce and sexy beginning!

    xoxo,
    Your fellow Princess of Party Planning.

  • nickh360

    Welcome to Indy! Great to hear we have one more die-hard IndyCar fan living here. In my opinion there aren’t enough of us, even in the Racing Capitol of the World.

  • Catie

    Glad to see another blog from you! 🙂
    I follow you on twitter and enjoy reading your tweets.

    -Another race girl

  • Gavin Brown (RubberGoat)

    Hey there,

    Long time reader, first time commenter!

    It’s great to see that IndyCars also has a tight blogging community just like F1 does!

    Happy New Year to you and the IndyCar community and I wish you allthe best for 2010 😀

  • Latasha Sternberger

    I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles.Great post, You make good points in a concise and pertinent fashion, This is a really good read for me, thank you for your time.

  • Sexy Patty

    Saw your blog bookmarked on Delicious. I love your site and marketing strategy. Thanks Sexy!

  • Ebonie Moorehead

    I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines :). Check out the link in my name. That links to a tool that really helped me rank high in google. This way even more people can enjoy your posts and nothing beats a big audiance 😉

  • Internet Techer

    Nice to find that there are blog proprietors that worry about their blogs and not compose all kind of unuseable stuff but rather try to maintain it complete and precious for the interest of their readers. You’ve done a good job and i thank you for that and also for not traumatizing me with useless garbage and spam.Thank You

  • Larry Mel Baker

    Some good work here and nice writing style … 2010 trial run: your page w blog link on IndyLeague dotCom.

    Larry Mel Baker, Editor

  • Mike Wendler

    I know how you feel race gIRL, sometimes it seems like you are lone voice screaming the the wilderness. I’ve tried to convert friends to Indycar but they just don’t get it, and I can see their eyes glaze over when I get ramped up about it talking to them. At least you are in Indianapolis now, where you can find a like minded individual to talk to once in awhile. Over here in Illinois, I might as well be on the moon trying to find someone to talk to about it. Thank goodness for twitter, I’ve found you and pressdog and MyNameIsIRL. I don’t feel alone anymore.

    thanks

    Mike

Leave a Reply

