Roadrunner Turbo Indy 300 (Kansas)

My sparkly red shoes are packed, I’ve stuffed my tiny-ass dog into a tiny-ass basket and I’m off to Kansas. If you know me, there’s no need to tell you that I’m psyched out of my mind about the upcoming stretch of ovals. If you don’t know me, then how the hell did you wind up here?

Since our last rendezvous, the IRL announced a new multi-title format for the 2010 season. As I understand it, the goal is to have an overall season champion as well as two “division” champs – one for ovals and one for road/street courses. It’s kind of like giving medals to all of the kids on the third grade soccer team, instead of just the ones who played well. I kid.

I actually like the new format. I think it will add excitement, as well highlight the diversity of talent among the drivers. Plus, not only will we be able to look forward to an exciting fight for the title in Miami, I imagine now Sonoma and Motegi will offer the same spirit of competition. Although I kinda wish Chicagoland was after Japan. But beggars can’t be choosers.

In addition, props to Randy Bernard for just trying something different. Even if it doesn’t have the desired effect immediately, who cares? At least the league is trying. It’s been speculated that this is an attempt to give some more bling to the “face of IndyCar,” miss Danica. I personally don’t think that’s the reason behind the new format, but if it is, it won’t work. First of all, she actually has to win it, which I’m quite certain she won’t. She might be decent on the ovals, but there are quite a few other drivers who are decent…er. Wait… what? And I’d be willing to bet on Simona over DP based on what I’ve seen so far.

This week, I even saw reports of Patrick being a favorite to win at Kansas. Are you guys yankin’ my chain or what? Don’t get me wrong – I like Danica. I do. If you want to know how I really feel, check out last season’s blog, In Case You’re Confused: She’s a Driver, Not a Savior. Why does it fire me up so much? Because if one more guy I meet finds out I like IndyCar and says, “So you like that Danica girl?” I might start dating women. At least they listen. Calm down… I’m kidding. I thought when I moved to Indy I’d be rid of this nonsense, but not… so… much.

On to the picks for Kansas. This will be quick so try and keep up. First, I’ll take Dixon because he won it last year and he’s due. Second – Kanaan because I can’t seem to stop picking him and well, he’s TK. I can’t wait to see what Andretti Autosport has in store for the ovals and a back-to-back AA win would be like a little slice of heaven on earth. Third – dark horse pick – Mike Conway. Write it down.

Don’t forget – the Kansas race coverage is on ABC this weekend. So for those of you looking to miss all the action and witness the greatest spectacle in “what the eff just happened,” make sure to tune in. Otherwise feel free to send me an email. I can almost guarantee that by the time you send it and I respond to it, ABC still won’t have told you what’s going on. Fine. I do think it’s cool that there’s a race on ABC on May 1, which should help to build some momentum for the 500, but let’s call a spade a spade. We can count on Versus. The same can’t be said for ABC and that is truly unfortunate. Someone needs to tell ABC to step it up. And since I know they’re among the millions of people who read my blog, I’m doing it. So click your heels together, IndyCar nation, and repeat after me: “There’s no place like Versus…

6 responses to “Roadrunner Turbo Indy 300 (Kansas)

  • Bri Kupfer

    See, I’m just not that excited about the “new” format. Of course, with the exception of Indy itself, not fan of ovals, either. Though that, undoubtedly, has to do with living in NASCAR central. And, as for Versus, I actually PREFER the ABC telecasts, for one simple reason. I get ABC HD here, but not Versus HD…….

    Good picks, and enjoy the race…..I know I will!

    • the_race_gIRL

      I hear ya, Bri. There’s a lot of people out there who prefer the street courses. And it’s cool that the IICS has a fairly even mixture of both.

      And I completely agree that watching a race on ABC is better than not watching one at all. That should be their new slogan: “If you have no alternative, tune in to ABC.” 😉

  • Brett "racing historian" Smithson

    I’ll keep an eye out for you in KC, Monica – we’ll be in seats down low near the start-finish line. Weather looks to be decent for raceday (unlike today) and hopefully the new tire compounds and aero changes from last year make it a great race. Predictions – Dixon 1, RHR 2, Helio 3. Hail, hail midwestern oval racing!

  • DZ

    “If you have no alternative, tune in to ABC.”
    OK, did you just place that line until I got near the end of your post and had a big gulp of coffee because you just made me spit it out.

    I do give ABC credit for the side-by-side which is better than totally watching an ad, and anyone who has watched IndyCar for more than a few years will tell you, nothing big happens until they go to commercial in which case you always missed it in the past. Beside that, they have done next to nothing since 1996 but take advantage of the relationship ABC had with the Hulman family and Indy 500, dating back to 1973.

    1UP to RB and IICS for the new ‘crowns’ format.
    1UP to you for treating Danica like another driver for once.
    1UP to you for continuing to pick TK (as I also have unsuccessfully for what seems 378 consecutive races).
    1UP to you for picking a true dark horse.
    1UP for 1UPping Versus over ‘the Mousehouse’.

    PS I’m ’bout drop some coin on my first HD TV and commensurate
    HD service (via Dish Network). Bring on the VersusHD…
    Cheers!
    DZ

  • mike jarrett

    Hey, I think finally every word by u was top notch. I don’t think it’s DP tayored and ESPN will not let ABC give us the love. You know the TAXI races rule all communications. Hey is lucky dog really racin

  • Tyler Taylor

    I think I found an interesting alternative to the abc coverage. I was at work during the race, and managed to find the race on justin.tv on, it was a feed from europe with the ims radio coverage piped in, the tv coverage wasnt phenomenal, but with the radio broadcast at least they gave you a clue as to what was going on. The only drawback was that they didnt have the leaderboard crawl across the top. I thought it was an entertaining race, not so much for the lead but there seemed to be some great racing for spots in the top 5 and top 10. I kind of like the 3 different titles, it almost ensures us a close battle for one championship or another. Finally nice picks, TK had a great run, and Conway made an early run to the front, not exactly sure what happened to him, but he is certainly much improved from last year, and Dixon, of course, is Dixon.

Leave a Reply

